New to OSSN and having trouble getting my profile picture and posted pictures to display.

Jessie Abernathy Posted in Technical Support 7 years ago

I am running Ubuntu Server 16.04 running LAMP Stack (I meet all the prerequisites for OSSN, it is installed and working for the most part).

I installed OSSN following instructions from this website:

https://www.vultr.com/docs/how-to-install-and-configure-open-source-social-network-on-ubuntu-16-04

I followed the instructions to the letter and got OSSN working several times but each time the pictures don't work (I don't know if they aren't uploading because of permissions or some other error like I said I am brand new to OSSN and hosting a social networking site on my own).

Here are some screen shots of what I am experiencing:

Screen 1
Screen 2

I apologize in advanced if my topic sounds vague or there isn't much information to go on, all I can really tell you is that I have scoured the forums and can not find a way to fix this issue and I know it's probably something that I'm not doing correctly because I'm a newbie (sorry for that as well hehehe)

Replies
mx Rubén Chavez Replied 6 years ago

I have the same problem!!! i installed my ossn in my host, but the images is broken.

i made everything that you said but it don't running

You know how i could repaired this problem?

Indonesian Arsalan Shah Replied 7 years ago

@Zet Man,

I think the issue with his installation is its missing back slash from end of path. Even its considered as directory but when writing files ossn_data acts as file in his case

So correct path is

$Ossn->userdata = '/var/www/ossn_data/';

@Jessie Abernathy
You should try to change path to above mentioned

German Michael Zülsdorff Replied 7 years ago

Okay,

[28-Oct-2017 13:55:03 America/LosAngeles] PHP WARNING: 2017-10-28 13:55:03 (PDT): "mkdir(): Permission denied" in file /var/www/html/ossn/classes/OssnFile.php (line 207)