See Mutual Friend Count when Adding friend

William Shoap Posted in Component Development 3 years ago

On the search page, how easy or hard is it to list a persons mutual friends count next to the “Add Friend” button and also on the profile page? Having this may encourage a person to add another person as a friend if they have enough friends in common.

Replies
us William Shoap Replied 3 years ago

A few seconds too me is too much lag. OSSN can’t be very scalable then under the current schema structure. I’m a professional data architect and data engineer and in my day job, I performance tune MSSQL server processes quite a lot. I have not worked with MySQL much but the principal s must be the same I would think.

us Rishi B Replied 3 years ago

I don't think you need a separate table unless your network has several thousand users. It depends a lot on what your host's database server can handle, though. Even with knowing server specs, it's difficult to get an idea of actual performance unless you do some testing. It probably won't create more than a few seconds of lag time unless you have several thousand users.

It seems that this solution is better of having its own indexed table. As friends are made or deleted, the table is upserted. Then the sql logic against the table, where the joins on on the indexes, would compare the friend lists of two people and count the intersections

Also, that table would have only a handful of columns; at least one for the user id and one for the friend user Id, a one to many relationship. Those two would be the primary key which would be an automatic index. Using a dedicated table takes to pressure of any core table.

Also, there needs to be an option in such a component to build or refresh this table at will. On install, the logic would need to run. But the admin should be able to refresh any time they want to.