OssnLocale is not defined when clicking on notifications

Laszlo Orban Posted in Technical Support 7 years ago

Hi all!

I am quite new at OSSN and I can say I am not a big expert in PHP and javascript, so I have come across a problem I am not able to fix in OSSN version 4.3.1

In Internet Explorer the error search feature is enabled to me because of a development consideration. The problem is about a continuous error message mentioned in the subject of this discussion. I am always getting this error message whenever I click to check my notifications or messages on the OSSN topbar. Of course I have got down to conducting an investigation but all I was able to figure out so far is that it should be related to the language settings on the account settings page.

I created a hungarian language package according to the OSSN recommendations and after I installed it and changed my user's language settings to hungarian the error message actually stopped and I was able to check my notifications as well as my messages.

But when I change from hungarian to any other default language the error comes again and the notifications & messages stop working even if I turn off the error search in internet options.
That means the error message does not appear obviously, but the notification box is still unable to show up.

I dug deeper in the source code but for me It seems to be painful to make out the process how OSSN works.

My observations so far:
- At any language settings other than hungarian the languages.php file which contains the OssnLocale variable declaration is somehow unable to be called or included.
- There are no differences between the hungarian and the other core language files.
- Committing a brand new installation is not a solution, the problem still exists.
- I can imagine that maybe an apache or php.ini adjustment causes the failure.
- Sometimes also the variable Ossn is unable to declare.