Url alias for groups to display url with group name instead of numbers such as group/1 group/2 ...

Michael Bayrakeri Posted in Technical Support 6 years ago

Current default group url is: /group/1 or group/2 ... which is not SEO friendly. Is there any
configuration to display groups with names instead of number ? Such as group/cats group/dogs ...

Thank you

Replies
us Mick Dawlings Replied 7 months ago

I asked about this here also;
https://www.opensource-socialnetwork.org/discussion/view/6739/pretty-group-and-page-urls

I cannot delete the post however.

Anyhow, I'm looking for the same and have premium already. I'm not a developer, just a designer and need to set everything up before finding an ongoing developer. I'm looking to do these things without having to edit page code so that updates/upgrades never break.

Is there a solution for Pages and Groups to have pretty URL's?

us Michael Bayrakeri Replied 6 years ago

Hi @Z - Man,

SEO friendly, I meant, search engines index url names and give credit to "text" in url. Group names would be better hit than group numbers. I will open up groups to public. If you log out, you should still be able to see the group content, which is what I wanted.

Hi @Arsalan,

Thanks for you reply. This evening, I will order the Premium version and then try your solution for url aliases.

Great work, thank you

Michael

German Michael Zülsdorff Replied 6 years ago

Michael,
could you explain in a more detailed way what you're trying to achieve?
SEO friendly ... what do mean with SEO friendly ?

If it comes to indexing we should have in mind that - as long as you're not using a special theme with those group titles explicitely listed on the front page - no crawling bot would find them because they are visible to logged in members only. Hence, the suggested changes to the left hand menu won't really help here.